Zigbee Alliance Member Awards

The Zigbee Alliance recognizes outstanding achievements, contributions and leadership that supports our mission in the overall improvement of the Internet of Things. Below you can find a list and description of the different kinds of awards given.


Award Descriptions

Larry Kohrmann Leadership Award

The Larry Kohrmann Leadership Award is given to outstanding working group chairs or board members. This award recognizes the volunteer-led leaders who make up the heart of the Alliance’s success. These individuals have dedicated their time and leadership ability to establishing and furthering the Alliance’s success.

Distinguished Fellow

The Distinguished Fellow title is bestowed by the Zigbee Alliance to exceptional individuals who have over time provided a major influence on the direction and success of the Alliance and its development. Individuals who attain this honor are recognized as key individuals whose vision and efforts have helped the Alliance membership realize success in deployment of the technology and have helped guide the industry.

Outstanding Contributor Award

The Outstanding Contributor awards are given to individuals who, during the previous year, went above and beyond the call of duty within the Alliance working groups by making many contributions throughout the year as well as effectively moving the consensus process forward. Both the quantity and quality of the contributions are taken into consideration. Outstanding Contributor Awards are presented during the first All Member Meeting of the year.

Circle of Excellence

The Zigbee Alliance recognizes the exceptional contributions and industry vision in reinforcing the Alliance’s missions through the Circle of Excellence award, which is awarded annually at our Winter (February) meeting. This award recognizes diligence and vision by individuals or organizations who further the vision of consumer control of device-to-device communications.

Porto, June 2019

  • Outstanding Contributor Award – Jos Bruins, Neovate representing OSRAM
  • Outstanding Contributor Award – Kip Meacham, DSR


Vancouver, February 2019

  • Larry Kohrmann Leadership Award – Brad Ree, ioXt
  • Distinguished Fellow Award – Leslie Mulder, Exegin
  • Outstanding Contributor Award – Chris DeCenzo, Amazon Lab126
  • Outstanding Contributor Award – Ezra Hale, Silicon Labs


Athens, October 2018

  • Kohrmann leadership award – David Smith, MMB Networks
  • Distinguished Fellow  – Skip Ashton


Shenzhen, June 2018

  • Ambassador Awards (not categorized in attached; awarded through ZMGC):
  • Jun Shou (CSHIA)
  • Eugene Young (Lumi)


San Diego, March 2018

  • Kohrmann leadership award (inaugural recipient under Kohrmann name) – Rob Alexander, Silicon Labs
  • Distinguished Fellow – Ian Winterburn, Landis+Gyr
  • Circle of Excellence Award – Peter Morgan, PA Consulting
  • Outstanding Contributor Award – Dr. Arasch Honarbacht, ubisys


Austin, February 2017

  • Circle of Excellence – Christine Wright
  • Leadership Award – Musa Unmehopa
  • Leadership Award – Cam Williams
  • Leadership Award – Dee Denteneer
  • Leadership Award – Daniel Moneta, MMB Networks
  • Distinguished Fellow Award – Bozena Erdman, Philips/Signify
    Cologne, Germany June 2015
  • Outstanding Contributor Award – Bozena Erdman, Philips/Signify
  • Outstanding Contributor Award – Ian Winterburn, Landis+Gyr